Follow:
Authors

Nick Hornby Books {In Order}

Totally Booked Kindle Reading D

Sharing is caring!

AD | Gifted / Affiliate Links

Author Nick Hornby was born in 1957, he lives and works in Highbury, north London. He is best known for his memoir Fever Pitch and novels High Fidelity and About a Boy, all of which were adapted into feature films. Hornby’s work frequently touches upon music, sport, and the aimless and obsessive natures of his protagonists.

Standalone Fiction Books from Nick Hornby

High Fidelity (1995) by Nick Hornby

Astutely observed and wickedly funny, Nick Hornby’s cult classic explores love, loss and the need for a good playlist. A must for readers of David Nicholls and music geeks everywhere!

Do you know your desert-island, all-time, top five most memorable break-ups? Rob does.

Available to buy from Amazon in Hardback, Paperback, Audiobook and Kindle Edition.

About a Boy (1998) by Nick Hornby

Hugely funny and equally heartfelt, Nick Hornby’s classic proves you’re never too old to grow up. Perfect for fans of David Nicholls and Mike Gayle.

Thirty-six-year-old Londoner Will loves his life. Living carefree off the royalties of his dad’s Christmas song, he’s rich, unattached and has zero responsibilities – just the way he likes it.

Available to buy from Amazon in Hardback, Paperback, Audiobook and Kindle Edition.

How to be Good (2001) by Nick Hornby

This laugh-out-loud novel, from the bestselling author of About a Boy and High Fidelity, will have you gripped from start to finish and will appeal to fans of David Nicholls and Jonathan Coe, as well as readers in need of a moral compass everywhere.

‘I am in a car park in Leeds when I tell my husband I don’t want to be married to him any more. . . ‘

Available to buy from Amazon in Hardback, Paperback, Audiobook and Kindle Edition.

A Long Way Down (2005) by Nick Hornby

Shortlisted for the 2005 Whitbread Award and the Commonwealth Writers Prize, A Long Way Down is a darkly hilarious and moving novel by bestselling author Nick Hornby.

‘Can I explain why I wanted to jump off the top of a tower block?’

Available to buy from Amazon in Hardback, Paperback, Audiobook and Kindle Edition.

Slam (2007) by Nick Hornby

Slam is a novel about a boy who has to grow up in big, big hurry. It is The Catcher in the Rye for the 21st century.

‘There was this time when everything seemed to have come together. And so obviously it was time to go and screw it all up.’

Available to buy from Amazon in Hardback, Paperback, Audiobook and Kindle Edition.

Juliet, Naked (2009) by Nick Hornby

Juliet, Naked is a humblingly humorous novel about music, love, loneliness, and the struggle to live up to our own potential. If you like David Nicholls, David Sedaris and Jonathan Coe, you will love this book.

What happens when a washed-up musician looks for another chance? And miles away, a restless woman looks for a change?

Available to buy from Amazon in Hardback, Paperback, Audiobook and Kindle Edition.

Funny Girl (2014) by Nick Hornby

Funny Girl is the story of a smash-hit TV show and the people behind the scenes. But when life starts imitating art, they all face a choice. How long can they keep going before it’s time to change the channel?

Make them laugh, and they’re yours forever . . .

Available to buy from Amazon in Hardback, Paperback, Audiobook and Kindle Edition.

Just Like You (2020) by Nick Hornby

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Joseph is twenty-two and works part-time in a local butcher. One of his many jobs in an attempt not to have a full-time job that would mean selecting a career. One Saturday, whilst attempting to defeat a loud and flirty customers comments he notices that she has a quiet and good looking friend.

Lucy is a forty-two, mum of two, who is going through a divorce after her husband drank too much as well as took drugs. She starts chatting to Joseph in the butchers and mentions that she is looking for a babysitter. Which Joseph offers his services.

A friendship forms between them but they both want more. However, is the age gap too big, would their respective friends approve of an interracial relationship? Along the way they have hurdles to get over, not to mention Brexit voting and the Trump election.

I persevered through the book but didn’t feel that there was much chemistry between Joseph and Lucy. I feel it might come across more on screen than it does in the pages of the book.

Available to buy from Amazon in Hardback, Paperback, Audiobook and Kindle Edition.

Non-Fiction Books from Nick Hornby

Fever Pitch (1992) by Nick Hornby

For many people watching football is mere entertainment, to some, it’s more like a ritual; but to others, its highs and lows provide a narrative to life itself. Brimming with wit and honesty, Fever Pitch, catches perfectly what it really means to be a football fan – and in doing so, what it means to be a man.

Available to buy from Amazon in Hardback, Paperback, Audiobook and Kindle Edition.

Sharing is caring!

Share on
Previous Post Next Post

You may also like